So…2012 eh?

This year seems to have a lot in store for itself, the Olympic games being held in London, the end of the Mayan calendar prompting the possible end of the world, and lots of cool new music stuff! Yes readers this is my what to look forward to for the next coming year post. During this post I hope to outline the acts and releases that I’m looking forward too and feel are noteworthy. So without further-a-do lets launch straight into the acts I feel are going to get something from this year.

Fatherson

The first act I’d like to include are quick becoming one of my favourite “small bands” around at the moment, in saying that I don’t think they’ll be small for much longer. After changing their name from Enengy! at the end of 2010, 2011 has been some year for the Kilmarnock three piece. From starting the year touring with Idlewild, playing T in the Park, selling out King Tuts for their EP launch, and playing a storming headline show at The Arches with an orchestra backing them. With another single in the pipeline set for a springtime release 2012 looks to be another great year for the band.

PAWS

I was a late-comer to this one, but better late then never eh? This lo-fi/garage rock trio have seem smashing their way all over Scotland over 2011 and are set to do it again this year, but on a bigger stage. There seems to be a lot of buzz around this group, whither it’s their electrifying live show, or fresh new music who knows but they seem to be going places. After releasing a split 7″ single with Lady North on Gerry Loves Records last year, they seem to be set to release their first full length album (rumour has it on quite a large label too). Needless to say if you the chance check out PAWS this year.

Vasa

Vasa do indeed set to be set to stun this year. This instrumental four piece put a demo online towards the end of November there has been a buzz around the group since then. Without even having played a gig they have build up quite a following online already. Their live debut is at Pivo Pivo on the 29th of this month and I highly recommend you go! After this they are planning on hitting up the studio to record an EP that will be released later in the year.

Brown Bear & The Bandits

This Ayrshire trio have managed to create quite a bit of excitement around them over the latter half of 2011. Having gigged constantly all over the country after changing from the Matt Hickman trio seem to have more of a following each time they play. They are recording a debut EP as I type, you should definitely catch this folk/rock trio when you get a chance!

Knowing me there are probably other folk I meant to mention, if so I will do a post on them when I remember!

As far as albums that I know are set for release this year ones I feel are worth mentioning go as follows:

Favourites of mine Frightened Rabbit are set to release their major label debut on Atlantic Records later in the year.

Admiral Fallow will release the follow-up to their stunning debut album Boots Met My Face.

Paul MacCartney has his fifteenth solo album slotted to come out n Febuary. Listen to the first track featuring Eric Clapton here.

The Twlight Sad are soon to release their third album soon.

Ayrshire folkies Rose Parade (who I reviewed at King tuts) have are releasing their debut album soon.

The lovely Julia & The Doogans have another EP set for release later this year.

Glasgow’s Three Blind Wolves have their first album to be released soon after their stint over in the US.

And again I’m sure there are more that I’ve forgotten about. Please if you feel I’ve missed out some that I should mention, or your in a band that have a release coming up please get in contact with me on Facebook, Twitter or even send me some stuff and if I like it I’ll give it a mention.

About Angus

I am a music student, this blog is predominately dedicated to new music from Scotland and industry matters I feel need discussed. Please feel free to send me stuff however please don't be offended if I don't feature it!

2 responses to “So…2012 eh?

  1. Pingback: SAMAS Launch Night @ Bar Bloc 8/2/2012 « The Practice Room

  2. Pingback: Vasa, Juan Pablo, The Sidelines, Terraqoma and Lily & The Stars @ Pivo Pivo 22/2/12 « The Practice Room

Leave a comment